Practical Nursing Program

The Practical Nursing (PN) program prepares students for entry-level positions, to provide nursing care under the supervision of a Registered Nurse or Physician. The first two semesters are identical in both the Practical Nursing (PN) program and the Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) program, enabling students to finish the Practical Nursing program after the first summer, or to continue in the Associate Degree Nursing program. The Practical Nursing program will educate you for this career in concentrated classroom studies, along with extensive clinical work (360 hours) based in a wide-range of health care settings.

Practical Nursing Careers

  • Physician’s Offices
  • Assisted Care Facilities
  • Medical-Surgical Units
  • Long-Term Care
  • Facilities
  • Operating Rooms

Course Schedule

More Information

Gainful Employment

Click to view Gainful Employment Information about this program.

Accreditation Information

Click here to download Practical Nursing Program Accreditation information

Iowa Community colleges have developed the following Core Performance Standards for all applicants to Health Care Career Programs.  These standards are based upon required abilities that are compatible with effective performance in health care careers.  Applicants unable to meet the Core Performance Standards are responsible for discussing the possibility of reasonable accommodations with the designated institutional office.  To view the full Iowa Core Performance Standards, click here.

Fort Dodge Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1316
foth@iowacentral.edu
Ashley Salter
Associate
515-574-1309
salter@iowacentral.edu
Heidi Clark
Instructor
515-574-1305
clark_h@iowacentral.edu
Abbey Devers
Instructor
515-574-1313
devers@iowacentral.edu
Jennifer Leffler
Instructor
515-574-1310
leffler@iowacentral.edu
Denise Norem
Instructor
515-574-1304
norem@iowacentral.edu
Lindsay Eslick
Compliance Coordinator
515-574-1320
eslick@iowacentral.edu

Storm Lake Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1316
foth@iowacentral.edu
Meghann Henrich
Associate
712-732-2991
henrich@iowacentral.edu
Carrie Kephart
Instructor
712-749-2517
kephart@iowacentral.edu
Amy Schmidt
Instructor
712-749-2516
schmidt_a@iowacentral.edu

Webster City Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1316
foth@iowacentral.edu
Joan O'Hearn
Associate
515-832-1632
ohearn@iowacentral.edu
Betty Daniel
Instructor
515-832-1632
daniel@iowacentral.edu
Robin Isabell
Instructor
isabell@iowacentral.edu