Practical Nursing
Practical Nursing (PN)
Career Options / Practical Nursing

Practical Nursing Program

The Practical Nursing (PN) program prepares students for entry-level positions, to provide nursing care under the supervision of a Registered Nurse or Physician. The first two semesters are identical in both the Practical Nursing (PN) program and the Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) program, enabling students to finish the Practical Nursing program after the first summer, or to continue in the Associate Degree Nursing program. The Practical Nursing program will educate you for this career in concentrated classroom studies, along with extensive clinical work (360 hours) based in a wide-range of health care settings.

Course Schedule


More Information


Gainful Employment


Click to view Gainful Employment Information about this program.

Accreditation Information


Click here to download Practical Nursing Program Accreditation information

Iowa Community colleges have developed the following Core Performance Standards for all applicants to Health Care Career Programs. These standards are based upon required abilities that are compatible with effective performance in health care careers.  Applicants unable to meet the Core Performance Standards are responsible for discussing the possibility of reasonable accommodations with the designated institutional office.  To view the full Iowa Core Performance Standards, click here.

The states for which licensure requirements are met by the program curriculum: AL, AZ, AR, CO, DE, FL, GA, ID, IN ,IA, KS, KY, LA, ME ,MD, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VI, WV, WI, WY, VT(Implementation date February 1, 2022), and GU(partial implementation- Guam is allowing nurses who hold active, unencumbered, multi-state licenses issued by Nurse Licensure Compact member states to practice in Guam under their multi-state licenses.)

Every state for which those requirements are not met: OR, NV, HI, CA, CT

States for which institutions has not made a determination as to whether the program's curriculum does or does not meet licensure or certification requirements: AK, MN, IL, MI, PA, RI, MA, WA

The information above is from the NCSBN Website regarding the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) as of 06/21/2022.  For additional information about the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), see the NCSBN website link:  https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm

Practical Nursing Careers


  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)
  • Physician’s Offices
  • Assisted Care Facilities
  • Medical-Surgical Units
  • Long-Term Care
  • Facilities
  • Operating Rooms

Contact Us


Fort Dodge Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
foth@iowacentral.edu
Sydney Suntken
Academic Advisor
515-574-1309
suntken@iowacentral.edu
Christel Becker
Instructor
515-574-1306
becker_c@iowacentral.edu
Sara Carlson
Instructor
515-574-1317
carlson_s@iowacentral.edu
Heidi Clark
Instructor
515-574-1305
clark_h@iowacentral.edu
Abbey Devers
Instructor
515-574-1313
devers@iowacentral.edu

Storm Lake Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
foth@iowacentral.edu
Meghann Henrich
Associate
712-732-2991
henrich@iowacentral.edu
Carrie Kephart
Program Coordinator
712-749-2517
kephart@iowacentral.edu
Jennifer Leffler
Instructor
712-749-2516
leffler@iowacentral.edu

Webster City Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
foth@iowacentral.edu
Joan O'Hearn
Associate
515-832-1632
ohearn@iowacentral.edu
Betty Daniel
Program Coordinator
515-832-1632
daniel@iowacentral.edu

I found a program at Iowa Central that fit exactly what I was looking to do for a career.

Alexis Neese
Engineering & Design Technology
Read more testimonials!