Practical Nursing
Practical Nursing (PN)
Career Options / Practical Nursing

Practical Nursing Program

The Practical Nursing (PN) program prepares students for entry-level positions, to provide nursing care under the supervision of a Registered Nurse or Physician. The first two semesters are identical in both the Practical Nursing (PN) program and the Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) program, enabling students to finish the Practical Nursing program after the first summer, or to continue in the Associate Degree Nursing program. The Practical Nursing program will educate you for this career in concentrated classroom studies, along with extensive clinical work (360 hours) based in a wide-range of health care settings.

Course Schedule


More Information


Gainful Employment


Click to view Gainful Employment Information about this program.

Accreditation Information


Click here to download Practical Nursing Program Accreditation information

Iowa Community colleges have developed the following Core Performance Standards for all applicants to Health Care Career Programs. These standards are based upon required abilities that are compatible with effective performance in health care careers.  Applicants unable to meet the Core Performance Standards are responsible for discussing the possibility of reasonable accommodations with the designated institutional office.  To view the full Iowa Core Performance Standards, click here.

Professional Licensure and Certification Disclosure Information


For more on Professional Licensure and Certification Disclosure Information, click here.

Practical Nursing Careers


  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)
  • Physician’s Offices
  • Assisted Care Facilities
  • Medical-Surgical Units
  • Long-Term Care
  • Facilities
  • Operating Rooms

Contact Us


Fort Dodge Faculty & Staff

Neal Adams
Dean of CTE
515-574-1284
adams_n@iowacentral.edu
Jodie Grandors
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
grandors@iowacentral.edu
Stephanie McElroy
Director of Health Science
515-574-1298
mcelroy_s
Sydney Suntken
Academic Advisor
515-574-1309
suntken@iowacentral.edu
Stacey Poldervaart
Instructor
515-574-1320
poldervaart@iowacentral.edu
Amanda Johnson
Instructor
515-574-1313
johnson@iowacentral.edu
Joleen Sernett
Clinical Instructor
515-574-1305
sernett@iowacentral.edu
Kaylee Schmitt
Clinical Instructor
515-574-1317
schmitt_k@iowacentral.edu

Storm Lake Faculty & Staff

Neal Adams
Dean of CTE
515-574-1284
adams_n@iowacentral.edu
Jodie Grandors
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
grandors@iowacentral.edu
Stephanie McElroy
Director of Health Science
515-574-1298
mcelroy_s
Sydney Suntken
Academic Advisor
515-574-1309
suntken@iowacentral.edu
Meghann Henrich
Associate
712-732-2991
henrich@iowacentral.edu
Carrie Kephart
Program Coordinator
712-749-2517
kephart@iowacentral.edu
Jennifer Leffler
Instructor
712-749-2516
leffler@iowacentral.edu
Kim Steffen
Clinical Instructor
steffen@iowacentral.edu

Webster City Faculty & Staff

Neal Adams
Dean of CTE
515-574-1284
adams_n@iowacentral.edu
Jodie Grandors
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
grandors@iowacentral.edu
Stephanie McElroy
Director of Health Science
515-574-1298
mcelroy_s
Joan O'Hearn
Associate
515-832-1632
ohearn@iowacentral.edu
Betty Daniel
Program Coordinator
515-832-1632
daniel@iowacentral.edu
Jessica Johnson
Instructor
515-832-1632
johnson_je@iowacentral.edu

I chose Iowa Central because it provided an extremely good opportunity for me to have a successful path in my chiropractic endeavors. My favorite memory here at Iowa Central was meeting so many people who I know continue to have an impact on my life down the road.

Kyle Wille
Pre-Chiropractic