Apply to Iowa Central today!
Triton News

2023 Triton Jazz Festival Results

    by Emilie Jenson, Public Information Office
    Posted on 1/16/2023

2023 Triton Jazz Festival Results

The Tenth Annual Triton Jazz Festival, hosted by Iowa Central Community College, was held Wednesday January 11, Thursday January 12 and Friday January 13 at the Best Western Starlite Village Inn and Suites in Fort Dodge. More than 750 high school musicians from 43 schools participated in the three days of competition. Results are as follows:

Class 1A

First Place: South O’Brien

Second Place: Newell-Fonda

Third Place: Belle Plaine

Class 1A Soloist Awards

Kara McGonegle, St. Edmond; Zach Mercer, Newell-Fonda; Izzy Sievers, Newell-Fonda; Lexi Roberts, Newell-Fonda; Ben Havlicek, Woodbury Central; Noah Teske, GMG; Alexandra Grimm, South O’Brien; Grant Wagner, South O’Brien; Ashlynn Gunnerson, South O’Brien; Claire Wagner, South O’Brien; Dante Johnson, South O’Brien; Kyan Kruse, South O’Brien; Nolan Oliver, Belle Plaine; Harry Singh, Belle Plaine; Sophie Brecht, Belle Plaine.


Class 2A

First Place: West Lyon

Second Place: Belmond-Klemme

Third Place: Roland Story

Class 2A Soloist Awards

Emma Sytsma, Southeast Valley; Creighton Urban, Southeast Valley; Luke Dornath, Pocahontas Area; William Lawson, Pocahontas Area; Isaac Swenson (drums), Belmond-Klemme; Isaac Sweson (guitar), Belmond-Klemme; Will Hinman, Belmond-Klemme; Mikayla Lundy, OABCIG; Kaylee Oxendale, OABCIG; Matthew Todd, OABCIG; Tavis Boothroyd, Ogden; Trevor Boothroyd, Ogden; Owen Bergstrom, Ogden; Payton VanSickle, Ogden; Matt Carlson, Union; Bridgitte Roher, Union; Zak Reed, Union; Sam Klein, Union; Joe Bistline, Union; Emily Kovarna, MVAOCOU; Jasmine Schaffer, MVAOCOU; Paige Schmidt, MVAOCOU; Eli Potter, South Hamilton; Jozi Klonglan, South Hamilton; Julia Bennett-Ellis, South Hamilton; Elspeth Hogg, MMCRU; Jaelyn Kabisch, MMCRU; Brayden Aberson, Alta-Aurelia; Morgan Westphal, Alta-Aurelia; Victoria Gustafson, Alta-Aurelia; Rhianna Koppes, Roland Story; Amber Taylor, Roland Story; Aubrey Britten, Roland Story; Samantha Sanderson, Roland Story; Katelynn Knoll, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura; Tyler Englin, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura; Zach Thoe, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura; Sam Sejnoha, Woodward-Granger; Maddie Sus, Woodward-Granger; Lily Smith, Woodward-Granger; Ethan Jones, Woodward-Granger; Ethan Feikema, West Lyon; Evan Klarenbeek, West Lyon, Miguel Hernandez, West Lyon;  Kaleb Reis, Manson; Emily Bach, Hinton; Dylan Hartman, Hinton; Aaron Williams, IKM Manning; Devyn Sander, IKM Manning; Josiah Conner, IKM Manning


Class 3A

First Place: Gilbert

Second Place: Waverly-Shell Rock

Third Place: Denison

Class 3A Soloist Awards

Sophia Schumacher, Estherville Lincoln Central; Grace Lutat, Estherville Lincoln Central; Shelby Brash, Estherville Lincoln Central; Brian Ibarra, Denison; Jonathan Valle, Denison; Jayden Bradley, Denison; Amy Estrada, Denison; Nash Langenfield, Denison; Shelby Kastner, Denison; Carter Menken, Waverly- Shell Rock; Colton Stephens, Waverly- Shell Rock; Becca Zheng, Waverly- Shell Rock; Nick Perrott Waverly- Shell Rock; Christian Toma, Waverly- Shell Rock;  Lauren Jergens, Clear Lake; Emily McLaughlin, Clear Lake; Martin Beisel, Iowa Falls-Alden; James Nicholson, Iowa Falls-Alden; John Heitman, Storm Lake; Helen Wobbema, Storm Lake; Miriam Tejeda, Storm Lake; Kenny Steenhoek, ADM; Nicodemus Fuller, ADM; Sam Peters, ADM; Keegan Holdmeyer, ADM; Becca Yanacheak, ADM; Caleb Oelberg, ADM; Jessica Stoker, Gilbert; Jenna White (flute), Gilbert; Jonah White, Gilbert; Aidan Wimmer, Gilbert; Laurel Mizerak (clarinet), Gilbert; Gretchen Mizerak, Gilbert; Jenna White (alto sax), Gilbert; Laurel Mizerak (piano), Gilbert; Collin Vik, Humboldt; Jordan Kahl, Humboldt; Cody Tuttle, Humboldt


Class 4A

First Place: Valley Jazz Orchestra

Second Place: Ames I

Third Place: Ankeny

Class 4A Soloist Awards

Tiffany Garber, FDSH II;  Emily Oliver, FDSH II; Mikeal Campbell, FDSH I;  Abby Meyer, FDSH I; Roan Milligen, Dowling II;  Alaina Heaston, Dowling II; Abbie Rodriguez, Dowling I;  Zoe Ball Dowling I;  Grace Aerisolphal, Dowling I;  Jacob Suresh, Dowling I;  Miles Umstead, Dowling I; Helen Mao, Ames I; Maxim Kovalenko, Ames I;  Bowen Flemming, Ames I; Miles Peterson Ames I; Nathan Carey, Sioux City East II;  Omar Jimenez -Gomez, Sioux City East II; Tania Callejas, Sioux City East I; Benjamin Geary, Sioux City East I; Ethan Ford, Sioux City East I; Adam Van Thomme, Ankeny; Sam Stember, Ankeny; Aiden Skow, Ankeny; Carter Danielson, Ankeny; Morgan McMahon, Ankeny; Mason Lyons, Ankeny; Nick Ambrosechia, Ankeny; Reece Trinder, Valley Jazz Ensemble; Brendan Scoonover, Valley Jazz Ensemble; Eli Bettenhausen, Valley Jazz Ensemble; Shema Mukome, Valley Jazz Ensemble; Shreyas Natarajan, Valley Jazz Orchestra; Logan Campbell, Valley Jazz Orchestra; Amara Dorr, Valley Jazz Orchestra; Jay Bell, Valley Jazz Orchestra; Marisa Cravero, Valley Jazz Orchestra; Jacob Hanson, Valley Jazz Orchestra; Steffen Poulsen, Valley Jazz Orchestra; Jackson Wagner, Sioux City North I; Matthew Hawkinson, Sioux City North I; Carter Vogt, Sioux City North I







2023 Triton Jazz Festival Results

I chose Iowa Central because both of my parents came here and absolutely loved the environment. I was able to be a part of so many programs at once which isn't offered at other colleges. I knew right away after visiting that it would be a great school where I could better myself as a student and as an athlete.

Emma Clark
General Studies
Read more testimonials!