Dental Hygiene Holds Pinning Ceremony

    by Josh Sandin
    Posted on 5/14/2013

FORT DODGE – The Iowa Central Dental Hygiene program held its annual pinning ceremony on Friday in Fort Dodge. Nine students received pins to signify their completion of the program. In addition to the pins, individual awards were also given out.

Amber Streit received the Director’s Award which is awarded based on a combination of faculty and student votes. The Director’s Award is given annually to the student that goes above and beyond for other students as well as the program. Streit was also the class Valedictorian.

Streit was again honored with Holly Harding as the duo won the Crest Community Service Award for their joint project Improving Adoloecent Health: One Tooth at a Time. The award annually goes to the student or students in the program whose project made the greatest impact on the community.

Megan Williams was the recipient of the Outstanding Student for Iowa Award for her outstanding leadership skills. The award was presented at the Iowa Dental Hygienists Association Spring Conference. Williams was the class Salutatorian.

Kelsi Pry received the Nordent Excellence in Instrumentation Award for her consistent clinical performance, compassionate patient care and dental hygiene promotion. She demonstrated a respectful demeanor when dealing with peers, clients and faculty. She was also an integral part of the program in the community.

Kayla Demmer was the recipient of the Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition (STAR) Award. The award is given annually to the graduating student that shows excellence and commitment to the dental profession through numerous ways.

Bethanie Scott received the program’s Lavender Ribbon Award for showing outstanding growth in the dental hygiene profession. Scott was a self-motivated, team player that grew professionally and personally in her time at Iowa Central.

The ceremony also recognized eleven five-year alumni members.


Dental Hygiene Class of 2013

Name                        Hometown

Kayla Demmer           Farley

Michaela Grimm         West Bend

Holly Harding             Eagle Grove

Kelsi Pry                    Correctionville

Bethanie Scott            Webster City

Stephanie Sloth          Carroll

Amber Streit               Ottosen

Leah Vander Schel       Pella

Megan Williams          Webster City


Individual Awards

Outstanding Student for Iowa                   Megan Williams

Nordent Excellence in Instrumentation         Kelsi Pry

Lavender Ribbon Award                           Bethanie Scott

Colgate S.T.A.R. Award                           Kayla Demmer

Crest Community Service Award                Holly Harding & Amber Streit

Director’s Award                                    Amber Streit


Five Year Alumni Recognition

Emily Abrams                         

Leticia Baldwin

Jennifer Cook                         

Monica Hall

Juli Jaycox                             

Kathy Mayer   

Amy McCollum                                   

Brandy Mills

Desiree Patz                           

Ariana Twitty

Angie Zalaznik