Laid off/Need Assistance?

Iowa Central Students Shine at State SkillsUSA Competition

    by Josh Sandin
    Posted on 5/3/2013

DES MOINES - On Friday, April 26, Iowa Central competed at the State SkillsUSA competition in Des Moines. Iowa Central had 20 first place finishers, 10 second place finishers and eight third place finishers. Iowa Central also had 36 students receive the Academic Achievement Award, which required a 3.5 GPA or higher in their previous semester.

“All of our participants represented Iowa Central very well,” said Phyllis Minnihan, an associate in Iowa Central’s Industrial Technology Department. “Thanks to all the advisors who helped students prepare for the competitions.”

All of Iowa Central’s first place winners will advance to compete at the National SkillsUSA Championships in Kansas City, Missouri, June 24-28.


1st Place:

Kelly Heinen and Matt McWilliams – Audio/Radio Production

Grant West – Cabinetmaking

Alyssa Schmitt -- Commercial Baking

Denise Moranville -- Culinary Arts

Collin White – Food and Beverage

LeRoy Matteson – Computer Maintenance Tech

Paul Dayton – Industrial Motor Control

Mickey Hefley – Internetworking

Brandon Risetter – Residential Wiring

Anthony Bruellman, Jonathan Moritz, Isaac Pudenz, and Zane Schug – Team Build (Carpentry)

Wyatt Wood -- Technical Computer Application

Brandon Kearney – Telecommunications Cabling

Beau Bonner, Austin Kuhlmann, Alexander Wilson – Welding Fabrication Team

Kathleen Zeka – Welding Sculpture


2nd Place:

Gerry Hassman – Commercial Baking

Caleb Dahlgren --Culinary Arts

Torianto Gates – Food and Beverage

Logan Runyan – Computer Maintenance Tech

Raymond How --Internetworking

Kamryn Phillips --Technical Computer Application

Brandon Childs – Precision Machining Tech

Aaron Haubrich – Technical Drafting

Myles Allbee – Telecommunications Cabling

Kelsie Hemping – Welding Sculpture


3rd Place:

Joseph Melendez – Auto Refinishing

Israel Baltazar – Individual Carpentry

Katherine Powers --Commercial Baking

Shane DeHaan --Culinary Arts

Jodi Vannoni – Food and Beverage

Cole Blair – Diesel Technology

Heath Lloyd – Precision Machining Tech

Nick Sindlinger – Telecommunications Cabling


Academic Achievement Awards

Myles Allbee – CNT                                                                

 Joseph Melendez – Auto Collision

Jeremiah Andrews – Auto Tech                                                        

Kyle Mesch -- Carpentry

Anthony Bruellman – Carpentry                                                        

Terrill Miller – Auto Tech

Brandon Childs – Computer Integrated Fab                                      

Mike Nagl -- Electrical

Joseph Compeau – Auto Tech                                                          

Jesse Partlow -- Carpentry

Caleb Dahlgren – Culinary                                                                

Katherine Powers -- Culinary

Todd Darling – Diesel                                                                        

Isaac Pudenz -- Carpentry

Paul Dayton – Electrical                                                                    

Kurtis Rice – Electrical/Mechanical

Shane DeHaan – Culinary                                                                 

Brandon Risetter -- Electrical

James DeWolf – Broadcasting                                                          

Zane Schug -- Carpentry

Gerry Hassman – Culinary                                                                

Mike Slaikeu -- Welding

Kelly Heinen – Broadcasting                                                             

Mitchell Staats -- Electrical

Kelsie Hemping – Welding                                                                 

Jodi Vannoni -- Culinary

Joe Hinners – Electrical                                                                     

Skylar Weigel -- Welding

Brandon Kearney – CNT                                                                   

Matt Wenger -- Electrical

Austin Kuhlmann – Welding                                                               

Collin White -- Culinary

LeRoy Matteson – CNT                                                                     

Alexander Wilson -- Welding                                                                                                           

 Wyatt Wood -- CNT                                                                                                      

Kathleen Zeka – Welding