Assocaite Degree Nursing
Associate Degree Nursing (ADN)
Career Options / Associate Degree Nursing

Associate Degree Nursing Program

The Associate Degree Nursing program will prepare students for this exciting career with concentrated classroom studies and extensive clinical work (720 hours) based in a wide-range of health care settings. The first two semesters are identical in both the Practical Nursing (PN) program and the Associate Degree Nursing program enabling students to finish with the PN diploma after the first summer, and/or continue in the ADN program.

Scholarship Opportunities

  • Please contact Sydney Suntken for scholarship information at 515-574-1309 or via email at suntken@iowacentral.edu

Course Schedule


More Information


Accreditation Information


Click here to download the Associate Degree Nursing Program Accreditation information

Iowa Community colleges have developed the following Core Performance Standards for all applicants to Health Care Career Programs.  These standards are based upon required abilities that are compatible with effective performance in health care careers.  Applicants unable to meet the Core Performance Standards are responsible for discussing the possibility of reasonable accommodations with the designated institutional office.  To view the full Iowa Core Performance Standards, click here.

The states for which licensure requirements are met by the program curriculum: AL, AZ, AR, CO, DE, FL, GA, ID, IN ,IA, KS, KY, LA, ME ,MD, MS, MO, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VI, WV, WI, WY, VT(Implementation date February 1, 2022), and GU(partial implementation- Guam is allowing nurses who hold active, unencumbered, multi-state licenses issued by Nurse Licensure Compact member states to practice in Guam under their multi-state licenses.)

Every state for which those requirements are not met: OR, NV, HI, CA, CT

States for which institutions has not made a determination as to whether the program's curriculum does or does not meet licensure or certification requirements: AK, MN, IL, MI, PA, RI, MA, WA

The information above is from the NCSBN Website regarding the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) as of 06/21/2022.  For additional information about the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), see the NCSBN website link:  https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm

Associate Degree Nursing Careers


  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)
  • Registered Nurse (RN)
  • Out-patient Clinics
  • Schools
  • Home/Public Health
  • Occupational Industries
  • Physicians Offices
  • Long-Term Care Facilities
  • Medical-Surgical Units
  • Critical Care
  • Pediatrics
  • Obstetrics
  • Insurance Companies
  • Rehabilitation

Contact Us


Fort Dodge Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Jodie Grandors
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
grandors@iowacentral.edu
Sydney Suntken
Academic Advisor
515-574-1309
suntken@iowacentral.edu
Christel Becker
Instructor
515-574-1306
becker_c@iowacentral.edu
Sara Carlson
Instructor
515-574-1317
carlson_s@iowacentral.edu
Heidi Clark
Instructor
515-574-1305
clark_h@iowacentral.edu
Abbey Devers
Instructor
515-574-1313
devers@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Instructor
515-574-1316
foth@iowacentral.edu
Stacy Poldervaart
Instructor
515-574-1320
poldervaart@iowacentral.edu

Storm Lake Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Jodie Grandors
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
grandors@iowacentral.edu
Meghann Henrich
Associate
712-732-2991
henrich@iowacentral.edu
Carrie Kephart
Program Coordinator
712-749-2517
kephart@iowacentral.edu
Jennifer Leffler
Instructor
515-574-1310
leffler@iowacentral.edu

Webster City Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Jodie Grandors
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
grandors@iowacentral.edu
Joan O'Hearn
Associate
515-832-1632
ohearn@iowacentral.edu
Betty Daniel
Program Coordinator
515-832-1632
daniel@iowacentral.edu
Amanda Johnson
Instructor
515-832-1632
johnson@iowacentral.edu

Iowa Central gave me the opportunity to do both things I wanted for myself. To major in dental hygiene and play soccer.

Magley Orellana
Dental Hygiene
Read more testimonials!