Laid off/Need Assistance?

Associate Degree Nursing Program

The Associate Degree Nursing program will prepare students for this exciting career with concentrated classroom studies and extensive clinical work (720 hours) based in a wide-range of health care settings. The first two semesters are identical in both the Practical Nursing (PN) program and the Associate Degree Nursing program enabling students to finish with the PN diploma after the first summer, and/or continue in the ADN program.

Associate Degree Nursing Careers

  • Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)
  • Registered Nurse (RN)
  • Out-patient Clinics
  • Schools
  • Home/Public Health
  • Occupational Industries
  • Physicians Offices
  • Long-Term Care Facilities
  • Medical-Surgical Units
  • Critical Care
  • Pediatrics
  • Obstetrics
  • Insurance Companies
  • Rehabilitation

Scholarship Opportunities

Course Schedule

More Information

Fort Dodge Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
foth@iowacentral.edu
Raeann Dischler
Associate
Office: AST-201C
515-574-1309
dischler@iowacentral.edu
Christel Becker
Instructor
515-574-1306
becker_c@iowacentral.edu
Sara Carlson
Instructor
515-574-1317
carlson_s@iowacentral.edu
Heidi Clark
Instructor
515-574-1305
clark_h@iowacentral.edu
Abbey Devers
Instructor
515-574-1313
devers@iowacentral.edu
Jennifer Leffler
Instructor
515-574-1310
leffler@iowacentral.edu

Storm Lake Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
foth@iowacentral.edu
Gretchen Miller
Associate
712-732-2991
miller_g@iowacentral.edu
Carrie Kephart
Program Coordinator
712-749-2517
kephart@iowacentral.edu
Amy Schmidt
Instructor
712-749-2516
schmidt_a@iowacentral.edu

Webster City Faculty & Staff

John Hansen
Dean of STEMM
515-574-1245
hansen_j@iowacentral.edu
Christina Foth
Director of Nursing
515-574-1301
foth@iowacentral.edu
Joan O'Hearn
Associate
515-832-1632
ohearn@iowacentral.edu
Betty Daniel
Program Coordinator
515-832-1632
daniel@iowacentral.edu
Amy Schmidt
Instructor

Accreditation Information

Click here to download the Associate Degree Nursing Program Accreditation information

Iowa Community colleges have developed the following Core Performance Standards for all applicants to Health Care Career Programs.  These standards are based upon required abilities that are compatible with effective performance in health care careers.  Applicants unable to meet the Core Performance Standards are responsible for discussing the possibility of reasonable accommodations with the designated institutional office.  To view the full Iowa Core Performance Standards, click here.

States for which licensure or certification requirements are met by the program’s curriculum:

ID, MT, WY, UT, CO, AZ, NM, TX, OK, KS, NE, SD, ND, IA, MO, AR, LA, MS, AL, TN, KY, WI, WV, VA, NC, SC, GA, FL, AL, ME, DE, MD, IN (Implementation date July 1, 2020), and NJ (partial implementation-New Jersey is allowing nurses who hold active, unencumbered, multi-state licenses issued by Nurse Licensure Compact member states to practice in New Jersey under their multi-state licenses.

Every state for which those requirements are not met:

WA, OR, NV, HI, OH, NY, and CT

States for which the institution has not mad a determination as to whether the programs curriculum does or does not meet licensure or certification requirements:

CA, AK, MN, IL, MI, PA, RI, MA, and VT

The information above is from the NCSBN Website regarding the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) as of 5/1/2020.  For additional information about the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), see the NCSBN website link:  https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm